Forum Settings
Reply To Thread

Which are available at character creation?Follow

#1 Dec 02 2010 at 7:13 AM Rating: Good
45 posts
I'm trying to think ahead and decide before the beta starts which class I'm mainly going to want to be levelling up. I've got some old information about the 8 souls available for each faction at character creation, but I've since seen a video that looks like they may have changed that. I'm wondering if I'll be able to play a Purifier right from the start as a Defiant, or will it come soon after? Does anyone know?
#2 Dec 02 2010 at 2:28 PM Rating: Decent
188 posts
I'll try to explain this but I'll probably bungle it up or overcomplicate it somehow. Also this is just based off of information gleamed through information available to the public such as interviews and presentations. As the game is still in beta it is all still subject to change.

At launch they'll be a total of 32 different souls split up among the 4 callings. So 8 Rogues, 8 Mages, 8 Clerics, 8 Warriors and you'll be to unlock all 8 for your calling eventually.. When you first create your character however you'll only be able to choose 1 of the 3 basic souls available for each calling. In the beginning you choose what you were in your past life from one neutral soul, one Defiant Faction soul, one Guardian Faction soul.

For example Jim decides to start as a Defiant Warrior. The 3 basic start souls for Warrior are Champion, Reaver, and Paladin. But since he's from the Defiant Faction he can only choose from Champion and Reaver when he first creates his character so he decides to start as a Reaver. At level 6 he can unlock the Champion soul and becomes a Reaver/Champion. As Jim plays he can unlock the other 6 warrior souls including Paladin which was the Guardian Faction's starter soul. At any point in time he can have a load out of 3 active souls. Jim can choose to swap and respec those 8 souls to his heart content. So he can swap from a main tank Paladin/Void Knight/Reaver combo to a Riftblade/Paragon/Champion DPS machine.
Nothing to see here people, let's keep the line moving. >.>
#3 Dec 03 2010 at 12:40 AM Rating: Decent
20 posts
Well the first closed beta is defiant side only, I'm pretty sure I recall reading that you can choose a starter class and then another one at level 15 to branch into. So the cb's will only have 2 different makeups I think.
#4 Dec 03 2010 at 9:32 AM Rating: Decent
10 posts
According to a magazine I read, you can also buy role slots, with 3 soul slots each, allowing you to try a different build with the same character, with a total of 4 roles on the same character (so 4 times 3 souls).

Edited, Dec 3rd 2010 10:32am by DiNo29
#5 Dec 06 2010 at 9:27 PM Rating: Decent
If you go to this link All of the callings in gold or not mentioned are "heroic" calling. meaning they will not be available at level 1. At level 6 you will get to pick one of the remaining 5 souls left to your class.
#6 Dec 15 2010 at 12:38 AM Rating: Decent
20 posts
It appears they force you into one of 3 souls in your archtype at the beginning to accomodate the new user experience. May be those other souls are not too forgiving on their own at early levels soloing.
#7 Dec 15 2010 at 12:39 AM Rating: Decent
20 posts
Also, on the roles you can switch in between, will you be have different roles with the same souls equipped or can each role have different souls?
#8 Dec 19 2010 at 10:45 PM Rating: Decent
31 posts
You can have a completely different set of souls from build to build so that you can save 4 varying roles in one character.
#9 Dec 22 2010 at 12:43 PM Rating: Good
71 posts
All souls will be available at character creation with beta 3.
Reply To Thread

Colors Smileys Quote OriginalQuote Checked Help


Recent Visitors: 1 All times are in CDT
Anonymous Guests (1)